The Long and Winding Road

Hi, my name is Blythe (actually it’s not but for blogging purposes it is) and I’m a sugar addict. For soooooo long I’ve been in denial. I’ve never even wanted to think that I had a sugar problem. I thought it was just that I ate too much, or had bad genes or bad will power. I was even willing to diet as long as no one said it would mean taking away my sugar. If I could have fat free this, low fat this, even diet soda this and that I was ok, as long as I wasn’t forced to give up my sweet tooth. I was even vegan for a year but still loaded up on vegan cupcakes and desserts and stayed unhealthy! Even through all this “dieting” I never really lost weight. Instead I gained, and gained and gained. I’m technically obese. Okay, here I will say it here: I am 230lbs, 5’1″ ish and an Asian female – An overweight Asian female! OMG, it’s like I’m an anomaly. All my life I’ve been made to feel that there was something wrong with me. I’ve decided that there is nothing wrong with me. I’m a great person – no wait, I’m a pretty awesome person actually. God loves me and I should start loving myself and creating the healthy, loving life that I want and deserve.

Have you ever daydreamed about what your life would be like if you made some small changes? I day dream of me being healthy, having fun in the sun, maybe biking, jogging even, going to the beach, going to the pool, wearing super cute clothes and all that stuff that they do on 90210 without the drama and backstabbing. Now a few of those things I can do like the clothes (thank goodness for Forever 21+) and the fun in the sun but jogging and going to the pool are total no nos in my mind. I can barely get myself to walk=( I think it’s because I daily feel sluggish, tired, depressed. I think a lot of it has to do with my sugar addiction. I’m on a sugar rollercoaster all day long. Crashing and getting high and all the while doing damage to myself. So today is Day 1 of this Sugar Addiction Breaking Journey!!

I’m going to educate myself on this by reading sugar addiction breaking books like Sugar Blues by William Dufty and this book here, Farewell Club Perma Chub Addicts by Jill Escher and whatever else I can read up on. I’m going to eat veggies, and protein and grains. Eventually I’ll plan to eat fruit again but for a few weeks while I try to kick the habbit I will abstain from any sugar and get my vitamins from vegetables. If somehow, you have found my little place here on the interweb and have though about sugar addiction, have positively cured yourself of it, have lost weight from cutting out sugar or have any kind of suggestions or comments on this please leave me a message or comment! I’d love to hear from you! Hopefully there are other people out there who feel the same way I do!

32 years old. 5ft’ 1″
Start weight: 230lbs (4/27/12)
Mini-goal weight #1: 200 lbs
Mini-goal weight #2: 180
Mini-goal weight #3: 150
Dream goal weight: 135

2 thoughts on “The Long and Winding Road

  1. Way to go, Blythe! Good luck on your journey to freedom! I’m in the same boat, well, almost the same – I’m a skinny-ish white girl. No one would ever guess I’m a sugar addict. I’ve had cancer for two years now. It keeps the weight down. I have GOT to get off sugar, and now!!

    • Thanks for leaving a comment Ellen! I think you’re the first person besides me who’s seen this! That’s so cool! Being off sugar has been pretty great. There hasn’t been any crazy sugar cravings that’s been strong enough to give in to. Fighting the cravings actually seem easier each day I’m off of it. I wish the best of luck to you and your health!

Leave a comment